

California Division

January 5, 2023

650 Capitol Mall, Suite 4-100 Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 498-5001 (916) 498-5008 (Fax)

In Reply Refer To: HDA-CA

ELECTRONIC CORRESPONDENCE ONLY

Mr. Fardad Falakfarsa, Chief Office of Federal Resources California Department of Transportation 1120 N Street Sacramento, CA 95814

SUBJECT: Acknowledgement of Caltrans Letter of Intent for the Late December 2022

Storm Event (CA23-1)

Dear Mr. Falakfarsa:

This is to acknowledge receipt of your Letter of Intent (LOI), dated January 4, 2023, to request Emergency Relief Funds, authorized under 125 of Title 23, U.S.C., for the repair of eligible damage to Federal-aid highways resulting from the Late December 2022 Storms beginning on December 27, 2022. The California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) anticipates an executed State of Emergency (SOE) by the Governor of California, identifying the Storm event impacting Alameda, Contra Costa, Calaveras, El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Santa Cruz, Sonoma, and Tuolumne counties. The storm brought damaging winds, substantial precipitation, widespread flooding, debris flows, and snowfall, which has damaged and closed roads in the impacted Counties.

You should proceed with performance of emergency operations, including emergency repairs, on the Federal-aid highways necessary to restore essential traffic, to protect the remaining facilities, and to minimize the extent of damage. Also, you may proceed with preliminary engineering, meaning surveys, design, and preparation of construction plans to perform the permanent restoration work required as an associated part of the emergency operations and to use agency forces and/or negotiated equipment rental contracts, as necessary, to perform the work.

Permanent repairs completed during permanent restoration must receive Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) authorization prior to the start of work. To accelerate restoration efforts, Caltrans and Local Public Agencies are allowed to perform certain Permanent Repairs under Caltrans' Emergency Opening procedures (PR Under EO). Agencies electing to use PR under EO must provide the certification form to certify that the work is within the existing right of way and that permanent repairs are the most economical option to restore essential traffic or that a temporary detour that could safely accommodate essential traffic does not exist. These

permanent repairs are subject to Right of Way and Environmental requirements but may be performed prior to the completion of normal Federal-aid procedures and documentation.

When performing PR under EO, submittal of the Detailed Damage Inspection Report/Damage Assessment Form (DDIR/DAF) is not necessary to start work. If FHWA does not concur with the use of PR under EO procedures, the costs incurred by the applicant are not eligible.

The eligibility of such work for Emergency Relief funds will be contingent upon a favorable finding of eligibility of the disaster by FHWA and subsequent approval of the work on a DAF(s) by FHWA. The basis for FHWA's decision will be the Emergency Relief Application which must include the Damage Survey Summary Report, Emergency Relief Application letter, and the Governor's Proclamation and/or President's Declaration.

If FHWA finds Caltrans' Emergency Relief Application to be eligible, all emergency work must be included in a program of projects under Emergency Relief disaster number CA23-1. The program of projects must be submitted within three months of FHWA's event eligibility determination. The program of projects must include a detailed outline of the necessary emergency operations performed and a description of the permanent restoration work proposed.

For site visits, please have your staff contact the corresponding FHWA Transportation Engineer to plan for visiting and reviewing the damage and assisting with DAFs. All DAFs must be completed by April 30, 2023. Moreover, sufficient record keeping must be done to permit audit of cost eligibility on a site-by-site basis.

The two-year deadline described in the Emergency Relief Manual and U.S.C. 125 (d)(1)(b) pertains to the deadline given to Caltrans for the submittal of the final program of projects eligible for Emergency Relief reimbursement under a particular disaster event.

If you need additional information or assistance regarding this matter, please contact Peter Pangilinan, Emergency Relief Program Manager, at (916) 498-5886 or Peter.Pangilinan@dot.gov.

Sincerely,

MATTHEW T Digitally signed by MATTHEW T SCHMITZ Date: 2023.01.05 16:11:10 -08'00'

Matt Schmitz Director, Project Delivery Federal Highway Administration

TO:

Fardad Falakfarsa, Chief, Office of Federal Resources (OFR), Caltrans HQ

Fardad.Falakfarsa@dot.ca.gov

CC (via email):

Raul Lerma, Chief, Emergency Relief Program Manager OFR, Caltrans HQ

Dee Lam, Chief, Division of Local Assistance (DLA), Caltrans HQ

Robert Peterson, Chief, Federal Programs DLA, Caltrans HQ

Saba Mohan, Emergency Relief Program Coordinator OFR, Caltrans HQ

Adam Ambrosini, Emergency Relief Program Coordinator OFR, Caltrans HQ

Bob Baca, Emergency Relief and Other Federal Programs Manager DLA, Caltrans HQ

Dave Changizi, Sr. Transportation Engineer, Office of Emergency MDQDJHPHQM ,nfrastructure Protection (OEIMP), Caltrans HQ

Gerald Kracher, Chief, OEMIP, Caltrans HQ

Vince Mammano, Division Administrator, FHWA

Elissa Konove, Deputy Division Administrator, FHWA

Monica Gourdine, Associate Division Administrator, FHWA

Matt Schmitz, Director, Project Delivery, FHWA

Rodney Whitfield, Director, Financial Services, FHWA

Josue Yambo, Acting Team Leader, Project Delivery, FHWA

Peter Pangilinan, Sr. Transportation Engineer, FHWA

Lanh Phan, Sr. Transportation Engineer, FHWA

Ei Mon Kyaw, Transportation Engineer, FHWA

Perry Gross, Transportation Engineer, FHWA

Raul.Lerma@dot.ca.gov

Dee.Lam@dot.ca.gov

Robert.Peterson@dot.ca.gov

Saba.Mohan@dot.ca.gov

Adam.Ambrosini@dot.ca.gov

Bob.Baca@dot.ca.gov

Dave.Changizi@dot.ca.gov

Gerald.Kracher@dot.ca.gov

Vincent.Mammano@dot.gov

Elissa.Konove@dot.gov

Monica.Gourdine@dot.gov

Matt.Schmitz@dot.gov

Rodney.Whitfield@dot.gov

Josue.Yambo@dot.gov

Peter.Pangilinan@dot.gov

Lanh.Phan@dot.gov

Ei Mon.Kyaw@dot.gov

Perry.Gross@dot.gov